Skip to main content

2022 WEST Executive Committee Election Results; Affirmation of the WEST Vision, Mission, and Guiding Principles; and Operations and Collections Council (OCC) Appointments

WEST carried out elections for the Executive Committee and to affirm the program’s new Vision, Mission, and Guiding Principles between November 16, 2021 and December 10, 2021.

WEST Executive Committee Election Results

A quorum of 51% of the votes was surpassed in favor of the 2022 Executive Committee slate, including three new members and one renewing member. Congratulations to new and renewing members Joe Mocnik (Kansas State University), Lorrie McAllister (Arizona State University), Jill Emery (Portland State University), and John Wenzler (CSU East Bay)!

The WEST Executive Committee oversees operation and development of the Western Regional Storage Trust and works to integrate WEST with related organizations and programs nationally and internationally. The Executive Committee is composed of ten (10) members including representatives from Archive Holders, Archive Builders, and Non-Archive Holders. The Executive Committee now also includes a liaison to the Operations and Collections Council. The full WEST membership is invited to submit nominations or self-nominations to the Executive Committee. Each year, a proposed slate is developed by the nominating committee of the current Executive Committee. The WEST Executive Committee is elected by the WEST membership. 

Affirmation of WEST’s new Vision, Mission, and Guiding Principles

During this year’s election, members also voted affirmatively on the new program, Vision, Mission, and Guiding Principles. Sincere thanks to all those who contributed to the drafting and refinement of this important foundational document. 

New and Renewed Appoints to the WEST Operations and Collections Council (OCC)

Congratulations also to newly appointed members of the Operations and Collections Council (OCC), Wil Weston (San Diego State University) and Randyn Heisserer-Miller (Colorado State University); as well as renewing members of the OCC: Sion Romaine (University of Washington), Molly Strothmann (Oklahoma State University), Jack Maness (University of Denver), and Jill Emery (Portland State University, newly elected OCC Liaison to the Executive Committee)! 

The OCC is charged by the Executive Committee to establish, review, and revise WEST policies, and oversee collections analysis to make title selections for inclusion in the WEST archive. Members of the OCC are appointed by the WEST Executive committee primarily on the basis of their expertise, although the Executive Committee also strives to maintain a balance of member type and geographic representation on the Council. The full WEST membership is invited to submit nominations or self-nominations to the OCC.

Thank you to all who contribute to WEST’s governance both through these bodies and other working groups, and to the whole membership for participating by submitting nominations and voting in the elections this year.

If you would like to learn more about WEST’s governance structure, please see WEST’s governance webpage.