Skip to main content

CDL, CRL & HathiTrust Summit for Shared Print in the Collections Lifecycle

Background

In 2020, CDL joined in collaboration with the Center for Research Libraries and HathiTrust (the CCH Collaboration) to play a facilitative leadership role in advancing shared print’s transition to a new phase of integration and interoperability (read more here). In its first year, the Collaboration released a freely available shared print comparison tool for serials and journals. On December 1st & 2nd of 2021, the Collaboration hosted a summit bringing together the shared print community, library technologists, and service providers to map a path forward for embedding shared print in the collections lifecycle. 

Attendance

The 90+ attendees included library technology and service providers, shared print community members and leaders, library expert practitioners, and a wide range of at-large attendees from library staff to deans. 

Agenda

The structure of the summit was designed to cumulatively build understanding of and momentum for embedding shared print across domains of the collections lifecycle, culminating in expressions of action and learning from service providers and community members. Expressions of action articulated commitments to tangible steps for realizing an interoperable and interconnected ecosystem for collaborative collection management and development. 

What happens next? 

The CCH Coordinators are diligently working on finalizing and distributing summit outputs, including full summit notes, round-up of expressions of action, and a summary report. These outputs will be publicly distributed via the Print Archive Network Forum listserv and by the CDL Shared Print Team to WEST and UC libraries. Everyone is also invited to attend one of the two scheduled post-summit webinars, which will provide an overview of the summit, its outcomes, and next steps in carrying the work forward:

  • Wednesday, January 12, 2022 at 10am PT / 11am MT / 12pm CT / 1pm ET – Register
  • Monday, January 24, 2022 at 8am PT / 9am MT / 10am CT / 11am ET – Register

 

X