Skip to main content

WEST Cycles 12 & 13 Unarchived Holdings Ingest is Complete!

In September WEST distributed a call to members to submit files of their unarchived print journal and serial holdings to seed the Cycles 12 & 13 collections analysis. Members’ files have been received and ingested in AGUA, completing the first major step in the analysis. WEST received files for 58 member OCLC symbols, including six from Supporting WEST members. Many thanks to everyone for their work extracting and submitting their data! 

As communicated to members earlier this year, the Cycles 12 & 13 analysis will prioritize identifying scarcely held and unique materials in members’ collections. All members participating in the analysis are encouraged to participate as Archive Holders, which will allow the project team greater insight into individual collections to better identify and prioritize these unique and scarcely held materials. Participating in the analysis as an Archive Holder does not commit any member to archiving materials for WEST, but all members that are proposed materials to archive will be encouraged to commit to retain them.

To support members’ decision making around participating in the analysis as an Archive Holder, WEST will be holding an informational webinar on January 19 to provide a refresher on the WEST program and goals, and give an opportunity for WEST members to have their questions about the analysis and archiving responsibilities answered by the project team. Members interested in learning more about the analysis and archiving are highly encouraged to attend, as are staff new to WEST who want to learn more about the program.

WEST Program Refresher

Wednesday, January 19, 2022 at 12-1pm CT / 11am-12pm MT / 10-11am PT

Registration link: https://UCOP.zoom.us/meeting/register/tJwvc-qhqzkiGdc5F7vtGn1hWls3KEa2NxXt

X