Skip to main content

Morgan & Claypool Synthesis Digital Library Collection Eight is Available

For the nine participating campuses (all except UCSB), Morgan & Claypool (M&C) Publishers Synthesis Series ( has begun making its eighth collection of lectures available online. The basic component of the library is a 50 to 100-page electronic book that synthesizes an important research or development topic, authored by a prominent contributor to the field. These Lectures offer unique value to the reader by providing more synthesis, analysis, and depth than typical research journal articles. They are also more modular and dynamic than traditional print or digital handbooks, such as collected volumes and monographs, more like a short book on a focused issue or topic.

Records for individual titles are cataloged and distributed to the campuses as they become available. The first 21 records for series eight lectures were distributed to campuses on March 12th.  The list is noted at and can be used as textbooks and offers concurrent usage and no DRM. Many UC authors are represented.

For more information about this Morgan & Claypool series, both available and forthcoming, please contact the Resource Liaison, Julia Gelfand (

New Synthesis Series Eight lectures include:

Sensor Analysis for the Internet of Things
A Guide to Convolutional Neural Networks for Computer Vision
Natural Language Processing for Social Media, Second Edition