856 URL Guidelines for SCP Cataloged E-monographs Adopted: December 9, 2015

Background:

On October 3, 2005, URL guidelines for SCP cataloged e-serials were adopted, http://www.cdlib.org/services/collections/scp/docs/UClinkresolverguidelines.doc. At that time, only a few e-book packages had been licensed. We have significantly more e-monographic packages licensed now and many are being represented in the SFX knowledgebase. As with e-serials, there are often multiple URL types to choose from that can be used in the SCP records. A group of members from the Shared Cataloging Program and the Electronic Resources Team at CDL were constituted as a task group to review options and adopted the following guidelines. These guidelines took into consideration the stability and persistence of various categories of URLs, the need to minimized URL maintenance across systems, and the user's desire for access to a resource as directly as possible.

Scope:

URLs for all SCP cataloged licensed e-monographs.

URL Guidelines:

Select for use URLs in the following priority order:

- 1. SFX Open URLs **if** resources in a package require them in order to provide a single URL for all campus subscribers
- 2. DOI/ARKs
- 3. Publisher URL if proven to be stable and persistent, e.g. IEEE Xplore
- 4. SFX Open URL if an SFX target exists
- 5. PID
- Publisher URL

Post-cataloging reconsideration of URL selected will be reevaluated when there is a change in choice of URLs available for use, e.g. publisher begins using DOIs in a case where SCP has been using PIDs, the publisher/ownership of the resource changes, or if an SFX target comes available after preliminary cataloging using a PID or publisher URL. Additionally, at the point perpetual access rights need to be invoked for a package, choice of URL will be re-evaluated.

Guidelines Developed by:

Shared Cataloging Program

-- Becky Culbertson

-- Kate Garvey-Clasby

-- Bie-Hwa Ma

-- Donal O'Sullivan

-- Adolfo R. Tarango

Electronic Resources Team (CDL)

-- Jayne Dickson

-- Holly Eggleston

-- Maria Figueroa

-- Wendy Parfrey

-- Alison Ray

-- Nancy Scott-Noennig

-- Margery Tibbets