Skip to main content

Melvyl Campus Circulation Liaisons

Notifying CDL & OCLC About Scheduled or Emergency Outages

Circulation information is currently available in Melvyl® for all UC campuses. If your Z39.50 server is down, circulation information will not be available in Melvyl®.

When your campus library’s Z39.50 server will be unavailable for more than 2 hours, CDL and OCLC should be given advance notice. Please contact CDL IMMEDIATELY after the maintenance has been scheduled, but at least 48 hours in advance. In case of extreme emergencies, less advanced notice is acceptable.

When Your System is Unavailable Due to Scheduled Maintenance

Your Responsibilities

IMMEDIATELY after the maintenance has been scheduled, click here to send an email with the subject line “[your campus] circulation unavailable [date and time]”. Then replace the brackets in the subject line with your campus name and the scheduled downtime, include any additional information in the email body and send it off.The email is sent to OCLC (operators@OCLC.org) and to CDL’s Melvyl Operations (melvylops@cdlib.org) and Resource Sharing (vdxtrouble-l@ucop.edu) teams so that we are aware of the impending maintenance.

When Your System is Unavailable Due to Unscheduled Outage

(Outages Mon – Fri, 8 am – 5 pm for that will not be resolved for an hour or more)

Your Responsibilities

Call the CDL Helpline (510) 987-0555 reporting the outage and estimated time needed for resolution.

Campus Circulation Liaisons

Campus Liaison Email
UC Berkeley Giulia Hill ghill@library.berkeley.edu
UC Davis Library Systems Department techhelp@libpo.ucdavis.edu
UC Irvine Lakshmi Arunachalam arunachs@uci.edu
UCLA Andy Kohler akohler@library.ucla.edu
UC Merced Mary Wepplar-Selear mweppler-selear@ucmerced.edu
UC Riverside Jim Clark jim.clark@ucr.edu
UC San Diego Greg Ferguson gferguson@ucsd.edu
UC San Francisco Andy Panado andres.panado@ucsf.edu
UC Santa Barbara Pegasus Systems Group pegasus@library.ucsb.edu
UC Santa Cruz Nicole Lawson nlawson@ucsc.edu